My Favorite Thing to Eat at Walt Disney World Is a Simple Chocolate Muffin

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffin at WDW Main Street Bakery

This one’s all about nostalgia; I won’t try to convince you otherwise. When I was a kid, we went to Disneyland in Anaheim every couple of years when we were out on the West Coast visiting my grandfather. Every trip, we’d stop at the Main Street Bake Shop for a special treat. For some reason, I’d pass up cookies, brownies, and cakes in favor of a giant chocolate chocolate chip muffin. Every time.

When my husband and I started traveling to Walt Disney World, one of the first things I made him do was stop at WDW’s version of the same eatery (Magic Kingdom’s Main Street Bakery) so I could continue the tradition of a chocolate muffin on every trip. Thankfully, WDW’s version was exactly the same: moist, dense, fudgy, and packed with chocolate chips. I won’t kid you: it borderlines on chocolate cake, with the only thing preventing it from landing squarely in dessert category being perhaps a slightly reduced amount of sugar in the dough. (Compare one to a true dessert, like a brownie, and you’ll see what I mean.)

I’ve attempted to replicate the recipe at home, so far to no avail, but that doesn’t stop me from continuing to try. Although my heart’s not especially in it, because I know that soon enough I’ll be back, and maybe saving this special treat for a WDW trip is okay.

Sadly, the Main Street Bake Shop in Disneyland closed its doors and recently reopened in a larger location under a new name: Jolly Holiday Bakery Café. I haven’t been to the ’Land since this happened, so I don’t know if the new café holds a candle to the bake shop I adored (considering how nostalgia works, it probably doesn’t).

Other Walt Disney World posts from the Girl in the Blue Apron

Why Foodies Shouldn’t Shy Away from Walt Disney World
Take a Culinary Trip to Northern Africa at Epcot’s Morocco Pavilion
Magic Kingdom’s Sleepy Hollow Now Serves Waffle Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

