Beets and Chocolate Are Starting to Be a Classic Combination

Roasted Beet Lava Cake

I’ve made beet cake. I’ve made chocolate lava cakes (but I have yet to share that recipe on this blog). What I haven’t done is combine them together. But one blogger has. I found the recipe on Pinterest, I think through my friend Diane, but it’s been so long since I’ve pinned it that I honestly don’t remember.

Unlike the beet cake I tried before, I couldn’t taste the beets at all in this recipe, probably because the ratio of beet to chocolate was pretty small. For some this would be an advantage, but I found it a little disappointing.

You see, I’m not a fan of hiding vegetables or other healthy things (black beans, anyone?) in foods in order to trick yourself or your family into eating them. I know I’ve blogged about a few recipes that may have given the wrong impression, but my intention has always been to see how an unexpected food combination, like beets and ice cream, can result in a new and unusual yet delicious flavor.

So when this recipe ended up tasting just like regular old chocolate lava cakes, I was slightly dismayed. That said, they were pretty good lava cakes, only I like my usual recipe better (I need to put that on this blog!). I might try making them again, increasing the amount of beet puree and cutting back proportionately on the chocolate/butter combination. We’ll see.

Roasted Beet Lava Cakes

Modified from Cannelle et Vanille

55 grams unsalted butter
170 grams bittersweet chocolate, chopped (I used Ghirardelli 64% cacao baking chips, which you don’t need to chop)
2 eggs
2 yolks
50 grams granulated sugar
55 grams roasted beet puree
pinch salt
¼ teaspoon vanilla extract
20 grams flour

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease four 8 oz ramekins and place on a baking sheet.

Combine the butter and chocolate in a heatproof bowl and microwave in 30-second intervals, stirring well after each, until the chocolate is melted. Set aside until ready to use.

In the bowl of your stand mixer or with a hand-held electric mixer, beat together the eggs, egg yolks, and sugar until pale yellow and very thick. When you lift the beaters from the bowl, the mixture will fall back into the bowl in thick ribbons.

Pour the chocolate mixture, beet puree, salt, and vanilla extract into the egg mixture and stir until combined. Add the flour and fold gently until just combined.

Spoon the batter into the greased ramekins. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges are set but the center is still soft and pudding-like. Allow the cakes to cool for about 10 minutes before unmolding. Dust with powdered sugar before serving.

2 responses to “Beets and Chocolate Are Starting to Be a Classic Combination

  1. I have made chocolate-beet cakes and liked them–but now I’m excited to make beet ice cream!

Leave a Reply

