My Husband Went to Greece and All I Got Was a Delicious Idea for Pork Souvlaki*

Pork Souvlaki

Last summer, my husband had the privilege of traveling to Greece for two weeks. Without me. In his defense, it was for work, and I had volunteered to stay home with our two dogs, who, yes, are like children to us. Don’t judge. It was during that time that I started this blog, so you have that to thank for what you are reading today.

He promised to take many pictures and share many stories, especially of the food. And when he returned, the number-one dish he could not stop talking about wasn’t the meal he had at the world-class restaurant in Athens with breathtaking views of the city at night. It was the pork souvlaki his group had tried near the Corinth canal at something akin to a rest stop. You would think he had become Anthony Bourdain.

And so intrigued, I had to try my hand at making the dish that had so captivated my husband. I’m sure the recipe below is fairly Americanized, because Greek food is, well, Greek to me. (groan) It can be served with tzatziki sauce and flatbread as in my picture at the top of this post, or just as is with some lemon or lime like in this picture of authentic Corinthian Greek souvlaki.

 

Authentic Greek Souvlaki

Real souvlaki in Corinth, Greece

Pork Souvlaki

¼ cup olive oil
Juice of one lemon
¼ of a medium red onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried oregano
¾ teaspoon salt
Freshly cracked black pepper, to taste
1 lb. pork tenderloin, cubed

Place the pork cubes in a dish or plastic zip-top bag to marinate. Combine the rest of the ingredients and pour over pork, mixing to ensure the pork will marinate evenly. Refrigerate several hours or overnight.

About 30-60 minutes before cooking, soak 6-8 bamboo skewers in water to prevent scorching. After at least 30 minutes, remove from water and thread pork cubes on skewers. Grill (on barbecue or grill pan) until pork is cooked through.

*Lest I sound ungrateful, I also got a pretty Greek scarf, jewelry, and olive oil soap, but this title was cuter.

One response to “My Husband Went to Greece and All I Got Was a Delicious Idea for Pork Souvlaki*

  1. The best pork to use for souvlaki is a pork shoulder Boston butt roast. Trust me!

Leave a Reply

