Pie Fail: When You Don’t Want to Use Bacon

Bacon-Sweet Potato Pie

That’s right. I tried putting maple candied bacon on a sweet potato pie. It’s proof that some ideas are better in theory than in practice.

P.S. When David Lebovitz says not to candy bacon with maple syrup, listen to him. Don’t think you know better and that mixing sugar with your maple syrup will make it the right consistency for candying. He is the expert. You are not. Trust me, your house will thank you for saving it from thick, dark smoke from burnt maple syrup on the bottom of your pan. Five days later, my house still smells like burnt syrup.

2 responses to “Pie Fail: When You Don’t Want to Use Bacon

  1. Funny. I just made my first sweet potato pie and my family loved it but with bacon? I never dreamed of doing that. I know they’d love it.

Leave a Reply

