World Nutella Day 2012: Nutella Chocolate Chip Cookies

World Nutella Day
If you haven’t noticed by now, if there’s one thing I love, it’s a great chocolate chip cookie. And Nutella. A recipe that combines the two? Be still my heart.

So, for today, World Nutella Day 2012 (hosted by Ms Adventures in Italy and Bleeding Espresso), I bring you Nutella chocolate chip cookies.

This is my second year participating in World Nutella Day, and while I had been planning to continue the tradition of updating one of my grandmother’s baked good recipes by adding Nutella to it, my grandma’s pound cake with a Nutella swirl needed a little more tweaking. On the other hand, these cookies are perfect as is.

I stumbled across this recipe last summer when I was looking to make something new to bring to a picnic. Since I belong to a family and extended group of friends who can’t seem to get enough Nutella (seriously, though, who can’t get enough Nutella?!), needless to say these cookies went pretty fast, and I even had a few requests for the recipe.

What drew me to this particular recipe was the quantity of Nutella it called for. If you’re going to bake with Nutella, I say make it worth your while. When digging through my options, I saw that some recipes called for a paltry 1/4 or 1/3 cup of the chocolate hazelnut spread. Pfft! I can eat that with a spoon in one sitting. This recipe needs 2/3 cup of Nutella. Now that’s what I’m talking about.

Nutella Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Lovin’ From the Oven

1 1/3 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2/3 cup Nutella
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg
1/2 cup 60% cacao chocolate chips (I use Ghirardelli)

Whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter and both sugars until very light and fluffy. Mix in the egg, then the Nutella and vanilla extract. Add flour mixture and mix until just incorporated. Gently stir in chocolate chips. Chill the dough for at least one hour but preferably overnight.

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment and drop dough by heaping teaspoonfuls onto the sheets. Bake for about 10 minutes until the edges look set. Cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Other Nutella Recipes From the Girl in the Blue Apron
Banana Cupcakes With Nutella Ganache
Toasted Nutella Banana Sandwiches
Nutella Truffles
Nutella Pancakes With Banana Sauce

2 responses to “World Nutella Day 2012: Nutella Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Nutella and Banana Marry Again, This Time in a Healthy Granola | The Girl in the Blue Apron

  2. Pingback: Canonical list of Nutella recipes | My Blog

Leave a Reply

